East Carolina University Board of Trustees June 23, 2021

MINUTES

The ECU Board of Trustees met for a special called remote meeting beginning at 1:00 p.m. on June 23, 2021. The meeting originated from the Spilman 105 conference room on the campus of East Carolina University in Greenville, NC. Chair Vern Davenport called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

Mr. Davenport asked Ms. Megan Ayers, Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees, to call the roll. A quorum was established.

<u>Present</u> <u>Absent</u>

Vern Davenport Angela Moss

Leigh Fanning

Tom Furr

Van Isley

Max Joyner, Jr.

Fielding Miller

Bob Plybon

Jason Poole

Tucker Robbins

Jim Segrave

Scott Shook

Vince Smith

READING OF ETHICS STATEMENT

In compliance with the State Government Ethics Act, Mr. Davenport read the conflict-ofinterest statement and asked if anyone had a conflict to disclose. No conflicts were identified.

CLOSED SESSION

Mr. Davenport asked for a motion to move to closed session.

Mr. Furr moved the board go into closed session to consult with an attorney to preserve the attorney-client privilege; to prevent the disclosure of confidential information under N.C. General Statutes §126-22 to §126-30 (personnel information); to consider the qualifications, competence, performance, character, fitness, or conditions of appointment of one or more prospective and/or current employees and/or to hear or investigate a complaint, charge, or grievance by or against one or more employees.

The motion was seconded and Mr. Davenport called on Ms. Ayers for the roll call vote.

ROLL CALL VOTE	Y/N
Vern Davenport	YAY
Leigh Fanning	YAY
Tom Furr	YAY
Van Isley	YAY
Max Joyner, Jr.	YAY
Fielding Miller	YAY
Angela Moss	Absent
Bob Plybon	YAY
Jason Poole	YAY
Tucker Robbins	YAY
Jim Segrave	YAY
Scott Shook	YAY
Vince Smith	YAY

The board moved into closed session.

ACTIONS FROM CLOSED SESSION

Once the board returned to open session, Mr. Davenport called on Mr. Furr to present an appointment resolution to the board.

A Resolution

Whereas the Brody School of Medicine's three-part mission is to increase the supply of primary care physicians to serve the state, to improve the health status of citizens in eastern North Carolina, and to enhance the access of minority and disadvantaged students to a medical education;

Whereas over 40 years ago through an affiliation agreement, the UNC Board of Governors, ECU, and Pitt County designated Pitt County Memorial Hospital as the teaching hospital for the Brody School of Medicine;

Whereas Pitt County Hospital operates as Vidant Medical Center, which is the flagship hospital within Vidant Health;

Whereas the original affiliation agreement has evolved and adapted through time as the two entities, ECU and Vidant Health, respond to the challenges and opportunities in fulfilling the joint mission of serving the health care needs of the people of the people of Eastern North Carolina; and

Whereas ECU and Vidant are separate legal entities with interdependent operations and missions.

Now therefore be it resolved the ECU Board of Trustees approves the appointment of Dr. Mike Waldrum as Dean of the Brody School of Medicine effective July 1, 2021 at an annual salary rate of \$525,000 under the terms provided in board materials. This is a joint appointment, along with the role as CEO of Vidant Health.

Now therefore be it further resolved the ECU Board of Trustees endorses the appointment of Dr. Jason Higginson as Executive Dean, and the Memorandum of Understanding between ECU and Vidant Health as important next steps in the collaboration between the two entities.

The goal of appointing a joint leader responsible to the Chancellor of ECU and Vidant Health Board is to move toward a more clinically integrated academic health system branded as ECU Health or some similar brand. The greater clinical integration, with a joint leader, as an academic health system will better serve the people of Eastern North Carolina.

Adopted this 23rd day of June, 2021.

Hearing no discussion, Mr. Davenport asked for a motion to approve the resolution. The motion was made and seconded. Mr. Davenport called on Ms. Ayers for the roll call vote.

ROLL CALL VOTE	Y/N
Vern Davenport	YAY
Leigh Fanning	YAY
Tom Furr	YAY
Van Isley	YAY
Max Joyner, Jr.	YAY
Fielding Miller	YAY
Angela Moss	Absent
Bob Plybon	YAY
Jason Poole	YAY
Tucker Robbins	YAY
Jim Segrave	YAY
Scott Shook	YAY
Vince Smith	YAY

The resolution was passed.

Mr. Davenport called on Mr. Furr to present a motion rescinding the ECU Physicians Bylaws.

Mr. Furr moved that the Board of Trustees approve the Chancellor's rescission of the ECU Physicians Bylaws, which were last revised and approved in 2008; and that the Board of Trustees affirms the Chancellor's authority and responsibility for the administration, operation, and management of ECU Physicians pursuant to N.C. Gen. Stat. §116-34; that Board of Trustees affirms the Chancellor's authority to delegate authority and responsibility for the administration, operation, and management of ECU Physicians to appropriate University leaders and employees, specifically including but not limited to the Dean of the Brody School of Medicine/CEO of Vidant Health, the Executive Dean of the Brody School of Medicine, the Vice

Chancellor for Health Sciences, the Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance, and any ECU Physicians Board or other committee created by the Chancellor.

The motion was seconded. Mr. Davenport called on Ms. Ayers for the roll call vote.

ROLL CALL VOTE	Y/N
Vern Davenport	YAY
Leigh Fanning	YAY
Tom Furr	YAY
Van Isley	YAY
Max Joyner, Jr.	YAY
Fielding Miller	YAY
Angela Moss	Absent
Bob Plybon	YAY
Jason Poole	YAY
Tucker Robbins	YAY
Jim Segrave	YAY
Scott Shook	YAY
Vince Smith	YAY

The motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

Hearing no further business to come before the board, Mr. Davenport adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Megan Ayers Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees

###