ECU Board of Trustees May 12, 2020

MINUTES

The ECU Board of Trustees met via teleconference on May 12, 2020 for a special called session, originating from Spilman 105 on the campus of East Carolina University in Greenville, NC. Chairman Vern Davenport called the meeting to order.

READING OF ETHICS STATEMENT

In compliance with the State Government Ethics Act, Mr. Davenport read the conflict of interest statement and asked if anyone had a conflict to disclose. No conflicts were identified.

OATHS OF OFFICE

Mr. Davenport called on Kimberly Nicholson, Office of University Counsel, to administer the oaths of office to three new members of the board: Mr. Van Isley, Mr. Tucker Robbins, and Mr. Scott Shook.

ROLL CALL

Mr. Davenport called on Megan Ayers, Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees, to call the roll. A quorum was established.

PRESENT: ABSENT:

Vern Davenport

Leigh Fanning

Thomas Furr

Van Isley

Max Joyner, Jr.

Fielding Miller

Angela Moss

Bob Plybon

Jason Poole

Jim Segrave

Tucker Robbins

Scott Shook

Vince Smith

TUITION & FEES

Mr. Davenport called on Sara Thorndike, Vice Chancellor for Administration & Finance to present an item on tuition and fees.

After the presentation, Mr. Robbins moved that the board accept the administration's recommendation to revise the parking, dining, housing and One Card fees to reflect a zero percent increase. Mr. Plybon seconded the motion and the board voted unanimously to approve the motion.

ATHLETICS UPDATE

Mr. Davenport called on Interim Chancellor Mitchelson to provide an update to the board regarding athletics.

Interim Chancellor Mitchelson informed the board of a fiscal sustainability report presented by ECU's Athletics Fiscal Sustainability Working Group. The report will be provided to the Board of Trustees and the general public.

ADJOURNMENT

Hearing no further business coming from the board, Mr. Davenport asked for a motion to adjourn. Mr. Plybon motioned to adjourn. The motion was seconded.

###

Respectfully Submitted,

Megan Ayers

Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees