ECU Board of Trustees Meeting June 2, 2017 Spilman 203

MINUTES

The ECU Board of Trustees met in special session on June 27, 2017. Chairman Steve Jones called the meeting to order and read the conflict of interest requirement. No conflicts were identified.

Steve Duncan, Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees, called the roll. Members present included: Steve Jones, Kieran Shanahan, Bob Plybon, Edwin Clark, Vern Davenport, Deborah Davis, Leigh Fanning, Max Joyner, Kel Normann, LaQuon Rogers and Danny Scott. Members absent were Mark Copeland and Terry Yeargan

LaQuon Rogers made motion to go into closed session. Max Joyner seconded the motion and the motion passed with no negative votes. The board moved into closed session.

Following closed session, the board members resumed the meeting in open session. Chairman Jones called for any motions relevant to the closed session.

LaQuon Rogers moved that the board approve the appointment of Dr. Harry Ploehn as the Dean of the College of Engineering and Technology effect end of July or first of August at a twelve month annual salary of \$269,000. Mr. Rogers also moved that the board confer tenure at the rank of Professor in the College of Engineering and Technology and the retreat rights outlined in board materials. Further, Mr. Rogers moved that the board approve the reimbursement of reasonable moving expenses up to a maximum of \$10,000 in accordance with East Carolina University's Policy on Non-Salary Compensation and Deferred Compensation for Employees Exempt from the State Personnel Act. The motion was seconded and approved unanimously.

Hearing no further business, Chairman Jones asked for a motion to adjourn. The motion was so moved, seconded and passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted, Megan Ayers Office of the Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees