ECU Board of Trustees August 31, 2016

MINUTES

The Board of Trustees met in a special called board meeting in Conference Room 105 of the Spilman Building on the campus of East Carolina University. Chair Steve Jones asked Vice Chair, Kieran Shanahan, to call the meeting to order and read the conflict of interest statement. No conflicts were identified.

Mr. Jones called on Megan Ayers to call the roll:

Members Present

Members Absent

Deborah Davis

Ryan Beeson Edwin Clark Mark Copeland Vern Davenport Leigh Fanning Steve Jones Max Joyner Kel Normann Bob Plybon Danny Scott Kieran Shanahan Terry Yeargan

CLOSED SESSION

A motion was made for the board go into closed session to prevent the disclosure of confidential information and to consider the qualifications, competence, performance, character, fitness or conditions of appointment for one or more prospective and/or current employees, and to consult with the University Attorney. That motion was seconded and approved unanimously.

RESUMPTION OF OPEN SESSION

Upon resumption of open session, Mr. Shanahan called for any motions that were a result of closed session discussion. Ryan Beeson moved that the board approve the appointment of Mr.

James Hopf to the position of Chief of Staff to the Chancellor under the terms and conditions

presented in board materials. The motion was approved unanimously.

Mr. Shanahan then asked for a motion to adjourn. The motion was made, seconded and approved unanimously. The meeting was adjourned.

ADJOURN

Respectfully Submitted, Megan Ayers Office of the Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees