## **DRAFT**

## ECU Board of Trustees December 14, 2016

## MINUTES

The Board of Trustees met in a special called board meeting in Conference Room 105 of the Spilman Building on the campus of East Carolina University. Chair Steve Jones called the meeting to order and read the conflict of interest statement. No conflicts were identified.

Mr. Jones called on Megan Ayers to call the roll:

Members Present

Members Absent

Ryan Beeson

Edwin Clark

Mark Copeland

Vern Davenport

Deborah Davis

Leigh Fanning

Steve Jones

Max Joyner

Kel Normann

Bob Plybon

Danny Scott

Kieran Shanahan

Terry Yeargan

## **CLOSED SESSION**

A motion was made for the board go into closed session to prevent the disclosure of confidential information under NCGS 126-22 to 126-30 (personnel information, to prevent the disclosure of competitive health care information directly related to competitive health care information, and to consult with our attorney and to preserve the attorney-client privilege. The motion was seconded and passed unanimously.

RESUMPTION OF OPEN SESSION AND ACTIONS NEEDED

Upon resumption of open session, Mr. Jones asked for any motions stemming from closed session discussion. Ryan Beeson moved that the board approve the appointment of Dr. David White as Dean of the ECU Honors College effective March 1, 2017 at an annual salary of \$232,329, as presented in board materials. The motion was seconded and approved as presented. Mr. Edwin Clark recused himself from this vote.

Chairman Jones then called for a motion to adjourn. The motion was made, seconded and approved unanimously. The meeting was adjourned.

**ADJOURN** 

####

Respectfully Submitted,

Megan Ayers

Office of the Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees